Global Aircraft Forum Help -  Privacy Policy -  Interactive Content Guidelines -  Legal Notices
Global Aircraft Welcome, Guest!   [Log In]  |   [Sign Up]  |   [Return Home]  

GAC Forum

RSS Feed Message Directories
Create New Topic
   RSS Feed General Aviation
   RSS Feed Subject - Please identify mystery UK all-grey prop plane  [Topic ID# 119]Messages 1 - 5 of 5  

fred2
Subject: Please identify mystery UK all-grey prop plane
Post ID# 841
Message Number 1
Date Posted: 07 September 2005, 3:44:23 PM

Please help solve this mystery which has been intriguing me for a long time.

In the summer of 1987 (or thereabouts) I was a student in Durham city, Durham county, UK. One day I was sitting at my desk next to the window working. I was on the top floor of a tall long terrace of houses of three or four stories (I think the street was called Old Elvet), which was on the edge of shallow valley so that I was overlooking the meadows towards the river. (Not the very steep valley near the cathedral).

I happened to look up, and was surprised to see a small airplane silently coming in a glide towards me (to be exact it was a little to one side) with the engine switched off. It was about to crash into the terrace of houses, but at literally the last second the engine was switched on and it just managed to hop over the roofs. I had not heard it before, so it may have had the engine turned off for a long time.

The aircraft was unusual. It was painted all over in the same shade of light grey - the same shade as an overcast sky. I presume this was to camoflage it against the sky. I do not remember any identification letters. It also had what I think might be called a rotary engine as I could see the piston cases arranged in a circle around the propellar shaft. The wings were fixed at the roof of the cabin. It was not a Cesna or any modern plane. It looked like something out of the 1930s or 1940s perhaps.